Music That Makes You Smile

Go on, press play on the YouTube link above and listen to the song while reading this post. I’m sure you will enjoy it as much as I do!

Picture this: it’s Monday morning, you’ve just hopped on the bus bringing you to work or uni. You’re feeling pretty grim as you would much rather be in your bed enjoying a few extra hours of sleep right now but, unfortunately, you must face the busy week ahead. You decide to plug in your earphones, press shuffle and then ‘Jubel – Radio Edit‘ by Klingade comes on.

As the music starts you take a long breath, look around and observe the people around you. Listening to this song somehow makes you feel like you are in your own little bubble even though the bus is crowded and there is a lot of movement surrounding you. Soon enough, an uplifting saxophone melody comes on and you cannot help but pull a cheeky smile. A voice then sings ‘take me’… And off you go, you are now day-dreaming, reminiscing on happy moments from the weekend.

I cannot put my finger to what attracts me to this song in particular. Maybe it has to do with the fact that it is produced by Klingade, a French deep house duo. Or maybe it has to do with the prominent use of saxophone in this song which carries a fabulous charisma.

Either way, when I listen to ‘Jubel’ I get transported back to fun times that I have experienced recently. In particular, I think about one person who means a lot to me at the moment and who makes me smile a lot. I just love how one song can make you feel so good by simply listening to it!

It’s unbelievable to think about how much music can affect your mood. After listening to this song I always feel excited and ready to move. There are a few other songs which have the same affect on me. Here’s a list of some of them (be warned, there are some very corny songs in there – just embrace it!):

– Jubel – Radio Edit by Klingade

– A Sky Full of Stars by Coldplay

– You Make Me by Avicii

– Elevate by St. Lucia

– Hey Ya! – Radio Mix/Club Mix by Outcast

– Yellow Brick Road by Angus and Julia Stone

– Young Blood by The Naked And Famous

– Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey

– DNA by Empire of the Sun

7 thoughts on “Music That Makes You Smile

  1. Hey there… Thanks for the like. I am going to reciprocate on this post. Completely agree with you about these songs!!! And nothing wrong with embracing a bit of cornyness (dunno if thats a word :-D) Blue skies!

Leave a comment